Salvador Nares

In 2009, the AAP Foundation introduced the The Nevins Teaching and Clinical Research Fellowship, created to address the retention of top periodontal clinical researchers and educators early in their careers. The award was created by generous donors in honor of Myron Nevins, DDS, a leader in periodontal clinical research.

The award's inaugural recipient was Salvador Nares, DDS, MS, PhD, Graduate Program Director at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Dentistry. Dr. Nares teaches at both the predoctoral and postdoctoral levels. At the predoctoral level, Dr. Nares introduces students to the surgical procedures a periodontist would perform through a hands-on surgical lab.

When asked why he chose to specialize in periodontics, Dr. Nares cites "the tremendous challenge of what we know about periodontal disease. When we try to understand disease and wound healing, biology, microbiology and immunology all come together to impact periodontal disease. I enjoy this deeper understanding; the science of what makes things tick and how we can help patients."

Since receiving the Nevins award, Dr. Nares was promoted to Graduate Program Director, has submitted manuscripts with two in review, and applied for National Institute of Health funding. He hopes to become the Chair of a periodontal program someday, keep his research going, and continue to publish and teach.

We are Research

We fund research to keep periodontology at the cutting edge of scientific dentistry. Read more...


We are Education

We ensure the future of periodontology by strengthening future generations. Read more...


We are Visionary

The Visionary Society was launched in 2000 to encourage the gift of future assets. Read more...



Past Award Winners Update

Congratulations to Fatemeh “Flora” Momen-Heravi, DDS, PhD, (2017 Educator Scholar, 2018 Dr. D. Walter Cohen Teaching Award Recipient) assistant professor of dental medicine at the Columbia University College of Dental Medicine, who was named the 2020 recipient of the American Association for Dental Research (AADR) Anne D. Haffajee Fellowship. The award provides early-career women researchers in the field of oral biology with financial support for training and research activities that will advance their academic careers. Read more here.

©2023 American Academy of Periodontology Foundation. All rights reserved.
737 N. Michigan Ave., Suite 800, Chicago, IL 60611
(312) 787-5518