The Campaign for the Daniel Buser Scholarship

Dr. Daniel Buser is the Professor and Chair of the Department of Oral Surgery and Stomatology at the University of Bern School of Dentistry where he also received his DDS and DMD. Dr. Buser previously served as a faculty member at Harvard University and the University of Melbourne. He has published and lectured extensively in the fields of Oral Surgery, tissue integration of dental implants, the bone-implant interface, bone regeneration in defect sites, guided bone regeneration, autografts, and bone substitutes. He has authored and co-authored more than 350 publications, which have helped shape the current practice of guided bone regeneration and dental implantology. Dr. Buser’s commitment and contributions to the field of periodontology were recognized in 1997 by the American Academy of Periodontology when they granted him a lifetime honorary membership.

Dr. Buser is known for his extraordinary training, mentoring and support of young researchers and clinicians in our field. His keen intellect and mixture of research, clinical practice, and commitment to excellence have inspired many clinicians, researchers and educators for decades around the world. Hence, the $10,000 Daniel Buser Scholarship will recognize those developing academicians conducting clinical and translational research in the field of oral implantology. This award will be made to a graduating periodontal resident with the commitment to become a full-time academic member in periodontology as a full-time faculty member or post-doctoral fellow, immediately following graduation.

The Campaign must raise $250,000 to make the Buser Scholarship a reality. We kindly request you to consider making a gift or pledge to help in this effort.

Donors to the Buser Scholarship Campaign will be acknowledged at the following levels:

Diamond: $20,000+

Ruby: $10,000 - $19,999

Emerald: $5,000 - $9,999

Sapphire: $2,500 - $4,999

Topaz: $1,000 - $2,499

Donor: $1 - $999

Please provide your full name.
Invalid Input
Please specify your email address.
Please enter a valid phone number.

Invalid Input
Invalid Input

We are Research

We fund research to keep periodontology at the cutting edge of scientific dentistry. Read more...


We are Education

We ensure the future of periodontology by strengthening future generations. Read more...


We are Visionary

The Visionary Society was launched in 2000 to encourage the gift of future assets. Read more...



Past Award Winners Update

Congratulations to Fatemeh “Flora” Momen-Heravi, DDS, PhD, (2017 Educator Scholar, 2018 Dr. D. Walter Cohen Teaching Award Recipient) assistant professor of dental medicine at the Columbia University College of Dental Medicine, who was named the 2020 recipient of the American Association for Dental Research (AADR) Anne D. Haffajee Fellowship. The award provides early-career women researchers in the field of oral biology with financial support for training and research activities that will advance their academic careers. Read more here.

©2023 American Academy of Periodontology Foundation. All rights reserved.
737 N. Michigan Ave., Suite 800, Chicago, IL 60611
(312) 787-5518