Meet Your Ambassadors

AAP Foundation Ambassadors are dedicated volunteers who help to educate their peers about the Foundation’s work and solicit support. They do this through writing letters, speaking at local events, hosing small information sessions, making phone calls, etc. If you are interested in becoming an AAP Foundation Ambassador, please contact Dana Camacho, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Current AAP Foundation Amabssadors:

  • Wayne A Aldredge, DMD
  • Gustavo Avila-Ortiz, DDS, MS, PhD
  • Monish Bhola, DDS
  • Nabil F Bissada, DDS
  • Barry S Blank, DDS
  • Julio Carrion, DMD, PhD
  • Gail G Childers, DMD
  • John E Crosland, DDS
  • Steven R Daniel, DDS
  • Satheesh Elangovan, DDS, DMSc
  • Owais A Farooqi, DDS, MDS
  • Bryan J Frantz, DMD
  • Praveen Gajendrareddy, DDS, Ph
  • Joanne Gaydos-Daniel, DDS
  • Joseph E. Gian-Grasso, DMD
  • William Giannobile DDS, PhD
  • Larry S Jacobson, DDS
  • Vanchit John, DDS, MSD
  • Susan Karabin, DDS
  • John H Kobs, DDS, MS
  • Paul A Levi Jr, DMD
  • Frank A Maggio, DDS
  • Lisa B Masters, DDS
  • Pamela K McClain, DDS
  • Patricia Miguez, DDS, PhD
  • John D Moriarty, DDS
  • Marc L Nevins, DMD
  • Joan Otomo-Corgel, DDS
  • Leena Palomo, DDS
  • Steven J Peiser, DDS
  • Flavia Q Pirih, DDS, PhD, MS
  • Michael P Rethman, DDS
  • Christopher R Richardson DMD, MS
  • Hector F Rios, DDS, PhD
  • S Timothy Rose, DDS, MS
  • Ancy Verdier DMD
  • Hom-Lay Wang, DDS, MS, PhD
  • Bertina C Yuen DMD, MMSc

Inspiring Stories
Salvador Nares


In 2009, the AAP Foundation introduced the The Nevins Teaching and Clinical Research Fellowship, created to address the retention of top periodontal clinical researchers and educators early in their careers. The award was created by generous donors in honor of Myron Nevins, DDS, a leader in periodontal clinical research.


We are Research

We fund research to keep periodontology at the cutting edge of scientific dentistry. Read more...


We are Education

We ensure the future of periodontology by strengthening future generations. Read more...


We are Visionary

The Visionary Society was launched in 2000 to encourage the gift of future assets. Read more...



Past Award Winners Update

Congratulations to Fatemeh “Flora” Momen-Heravi, DDS, PhD, (2017 Educator Scholar, 2018 Dr. D. Walter Cohen Teaching Award Recipient) assistant professor of dental medicine at the Columbia University College of Dental Medicine, who was named the 2020 recipient of the American Association for Dental Research (AADR) Anne D. Haffajee Fellowship. The award provides early-career women researchers in the field of oral biology with financial support for training and research activities that will advance their academic careers. Read more here.

©2023 American Academy of Periodontology Foundation. All rights reserved.
737 N. Michigan Ave., Suite 800, Chicago, IL 60611
(312) 787-5518