Get ready for PerioDash 2022!

Are you ready to PerioDash? We hope so! PerioDash is the AAP Foundation's 5K run/walk to support periodontal education, research, and excellence. Participate on your schedule, when it's convenient for you, by yourself or with a team. Your $35 registration fee includes a t-shirt and medal! Register here.

Read more ...

Donate an item to the AAP Foundation Silent Auction!

The AAP Foundation is gearing up for our annual Silent Auction, to be held in conjunction with the 2022 AAP Annual Meeting in Phoenix, AZ. The Silent Auction has been a centerpiece of the AAP Foundation booth at the Annual Meeting for more than 15 years, and continues to raise vital funds to support periodontal education and research. Popular items include products from corporate donors, stays at vacation properties, wine & spirits, tickets to sporting events, jewelry, and other luxury items. Your donation's fair market value is tax deductible to the extent allowed by law. 

Read more ...

Announcing the new Dr. Mark K. Setter Leadership in Periodontology and Dental Implantology Award

In February 2019, periodontology lost one of its greats - Dr. Mark Setter. Dr. Setter was well-loved and contributed to the field in many ways. He practiced for 30+ years, lectured, and mentored many dentists, periodontists, and students. To honor Dr. Setter's memory, Drs. Jason Souyias, Jason Stoner, and Mitch Godat, along with Mrs. Susan Setter, have worked with the AAP Foundation to establish the Dr. Mark K. Setter Leadership in Periodontology and Dental Implantology Award.

Read more ...

The New Dr. Colin Richman Family Perio-Ortho Award

The AAP Foundation is proud to announce a new award that has been added this year: the Dr. Colin Richman Family Perio-Ortho Award. This annual award of $20,000-$40,000 is available to periodontic and orthodontic residents, as well as early career faculty (5 or fewer years at an accredited institution) and may have more than one awardee annually.

Read more ...

We are Research

We fund research to keep periodontology at the cutting edge of scientific dentistry. Read more...


We are Education

We ensure the future of periodontology by strengthening future generations. Read more...


We are Visionary

The Visionary Society was launched in 2000 to encourage the gift of future assets. Read more...


Facebook Feed

Past Award Winners Update

Congratulations to Fatemeh “Flora” Momen-Heravi, DDS, PhD, (2017 Educator Scholar, 2018 Dr. D. Walter Cohen Teaching Award Recipient) assistant professor of dental medicine at the Columbia University College of Dental Medicine, who was named the 2020 recipient of the American Association for Dental Research (AADR) Anne D. Haffajee Fellowship. The award provides early-career women researchers in the field of oral biology with financial support for training and research activities that will advance their academic careers. Read more here.