Richard J. Lazzara Fellowship in Advanced Implant Surgery

Posted in Research Awards

The Lazzara Fellowship is intended to provide educational and clinical experiences that reflect the most current techniques in implant dentistry.


The $50,000 Richard J. Lazzara Fellowship in Advanced Implant Surgery is intended to provide educational and clinical experiences that reflect the most current techniques in implant dentistry.

The AAP Foundation Lazzara Fellowship provides a stipend for the Fellow as well as funds to offset the hosting institution's overhead and administrative costs. The Lazzara Fellowship is a 12-month fellowship that takes place at the student's training institution. It may begin upon completion of the Fellow's periodontal training program or when the Fellow starts the last six months of his/her periodontal program.


Application for the Fellowship is made jointly by a student in his/her third year of an accredited periodontal post-doctoral training program in the United States as of the application deadline and by the student's periodontal program director. The Lazzara Fellowship must be performed at the same program as the residency.
Previously selected Lazzara Fellows who leave their institution prior to the commencement or completion of the Fellowship shall forfeit their award..


Completed applications must be received by the AAP Foundation by March 1.


The Fellow receives half of the award upon selection and the other half in the 4th quarter. The program receives the award payment in the 3rd quarter.


The Fellowship is named in honor of Richard J. Lazzara, one of the specialty's true innovators in implantology. Dr. Lazzara has published widely on the subject of implantology and has lectured throughout the U.S. and internationally on the surgical and prosthetic application of implant dentistry. He is currently clinical associate professor at the University of Southern California School of Dentistry and associate clinical professor at the University of Maryland, Periodontal and Implant Regenerative Center. The Lazzara Fellowship is sponsored by Zimmer Biomet.

For More Information

If you have additional questions regarding any AAP Foundation Awards, please contact:

Ariel A. Medoff, MA, MLIS
Awards Coordinator
American Academy of Periodontology Foundation
737 N. Michigan Avenue, Suite 800
Chicago, IL 60611
Phone: 800-282-4867, ext. 3254 or 312-573-3254


We are Research

We fund research to keep periodontology at the cutting edge of scientific dentistry. Read more...


We are Education

We ensure the future of periodontology by strengthening future generations. Read more...


We are Visionary

The Visionary Society was launched in 2000 to encourage the gift of future assets. Read more...


Facebook Feed

Past Award Winners Update

Congratulations to Fatemeh “Flora” Momen-Heravi, DDS, PhD, (2017 Educator Scholar, 2018 Dr. D. Walter Cohen Teaching Award Recipient) assistant professor of dental medicine at the Columbia University College of Dental Medicine, who was named the 2020 recipient of the American Association for Dental Research (AADR) Anne D. Haffajee Fellowship. The award provides early-career women researchers in the field of oral biology with financial support for training and research activities that will advance their academic careers. Read more here.